Friends of

Upminster Windmill

Latest News

Closing for restoration

Sept, 30, 2015

Published by:

Neil Morley

 Upminster Windmill was built in 1803 and was the centre of a corn milling business for over 130 years until its closure in 1934.

For the following eighty years it has stood as a symbol of a bygone age, its machinery static and its fabric deteriorating.

In recent times the Mill, in its field, has presented a proud and graceful image to the people of Havering, becoming an icon to many. Yet few people recognise it as the heart of a busy industrial complex of sixteen buildings where the families who owned it lived and worked. Its history has decayed with its buildings.

The Mill is owned by the London Borough of Havering and is managed on their behalf by a registered charity, the Friends of Upminster Windmill.

 

After much effort the Windmill Trust has secured generous funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund, Veolia Waste Management and the London Borough of Havering to enable a restoration of the Mill to be undertaken.  This will bring the Mill back to full working order.  Additionally the Council will manage the construction of an Interpretation Centre where visitors will be able to see our exhibits, view the history of Milling and hear the story of the Abraham family.  and of course become absorbed in the fascinating tale of Upminster's heritage icon.

 

 

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit, sed diam nonummy nibh euismod tincidunt ut laoreet dolore magna aliquam erat volutpat. Ut wisi enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exerci tation ullamcorper suscipit lobortis nisl ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.

Summer 2015 Update

July, 12, 2015

Published by:

Neil Morley

The volunteers have been working hard this summer to ensure that we had the highest number of visitors possible.  We had several outdoor events on the Mill Field and did not suffer too badly with the weather.

 

The archaeology progressed at a pace and not only is the Steam House floor seeing daylight once again but a 12 foot deep well has been discovered close to the Steam House. This was quite unexpected.  It has also been discovered that the Steam engine used in the Steam House was one of a unique pair.  The remaining 'twin' has pride of place and is displayed as a working exhibit in the Science Museum in Kensington.  I am sure we have not heard the last of these important discoveries.

 

It is understood that the contracts to build the Interpretation centre and to restore the Mill will be let at the end of this summer.  Fingers crossed.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit, sed diam nonummy nibh euismod tincidunt ut laoreet dolore magna aliquam erat volutpat. Ut wisi enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exerci tation ullamcorper suscipit lobortis nisl ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.

Upminster Windmill is managed on behalf of the London Borough of Havering by The Friends of Upminster Windmill. Registered Charity 1162180

 

Upminster Windmill

Friends of